Running? There’s a first time for everything!

Physical fitness is not only one of the most important keys to a healthy body, it is the basis of dynamic and creative intellectual activity.

 – John F. Kennedy

It is never too late to try something new especially when we have our own set of preconceived notions preventing to go ahead it. Traveling around the world, meeting different people, visiting distinct places, you know what you cherish and what you don’t. The things or activities that you absolutely love- you do them anytime! You plan your schedule around them, you can go extra mile to make it all happen! But what about the stuff that you aren’t really fond of? Are you okay to give it a try? It requires a little more than that “extra push”, not everyone takes even a step forward. The reason? It’s simple – it requires the motivation and courage from within to start and try it.

For me, one such activity has been – running. During childhood days, we had to participate in many races and it was a great experience but I did not like practicing for the race or running for the half marathon. Sprint race, lemon race, three-legged race, sack race, etc. were the ones which used to fill me with excitement.

And hence, while growing up, it was among other activities that got added into my list.  But as I started studying further, the zeal inside began to fade away. Soon, I was studying in college, then took up a job but I feel one definitely needs a hobby to kill weekends. One of my friends suggested running but I shut that advice out due to that little dislike I had for that sport. He is a runner and has been around me for three again, which made me contemplate on picking up this activity and think over the reason I was running away from running!

I realized it has been always in my not-to-do list because I have this fear of falling down by twisting my ankle while running. Also, I had this thought in my mind since forever that might make you giggle that I run like Phoebe in F.R.I.E.N.D.S. which could make me a laughing stock.

American Pier
American Veterans Memorial Pier – Brooklyn, NY

Later, shifting to a place near American Veterans Memorial Pier and feeling inspired by the view and seeing people going for a run any time, a thought came to me of why not run along the pier for fun and to try. This was the same pier which I visited back in 2015 to cheer my friend for his half marathon, maybe that was the reason I wanted to run there to relive those memories.

I finally decided and talked to my friend and he shared the 5K Training plan which helped me set my routine. It’s been two weeks already and I am in the middle of the third week. To my utter surprise, I am kind of enjoying it. With this plan, I don’t have to think about how much rest my body needs after a run as it has relax days in between which helps one to recover and not feel exhausted.

IMG_1856
Training Plan

During my first two weeks of running, I felt hungry and ate almost 5 times a day. Adding eggs to my diet helped me feed more protein to my body. After second week, I was able to bring my diet to three meals a day, increasing the meal portion a bit. Two weeks were definitely interesting, as my overall routine also changed for good. If everything goes the way it is planned, after the 10th week, I plan to run a 5K, thanks to my friend!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

